top of page

The 2015 Social Justice Awards

“The Use of Power to Advocate on Behalf of the Powerless is the Greatest Virtue of Any Leader”


                                                            -- Congressman Major R. Owens (1936 – 2013)

Friday, April 17, 2015


TWU Local 100 Headquarters

195 Montague Street, 3rd Floor Brooklyn, NY 11201


The Central Brooklyn

Martin Luther King Commission

presented the first


MLK/Lindsay Award


to the Mayor of the City of New York






Mayor Bill De Blasio









                                          Leo Casey

                            Executive Director, The Albert Shanker Institute

Educator, Clara Barton High School, Brooklyn                              


Lorrelle Henry

Central Brooklyn Martin Luther King Commission, Past President;

Retired Assistant Director of Libraries -- NYC Department of Education 















                            Evy Papillon-Juste

Central Brooklyn Martin Luther King Commission, Past President;

     Retired Nursing Administrator Kingsborough Psychiatric Clinic



 Host Committee: 


  Eric Adams, President, Borough of Brooklyn


  Rodneyse Bichotte, Member, NY State Assembly


  Jim Brennan, Member, NY State Assembly


  Yvette Clarke, Member, US Congress


  Robert Cornegy, Jr., Member, City Council of New York


  Laurie Cumbo, Member, City Council of New York


  Katie Davis, President, Community Council of Medgar Evers College, Inc.


  David Mark Greaves, Co-Editor, Our Time Press


  Jesse Hamilton, Member, NY State Senate


  Elizabeth Holtzman, Herrick, Feinstein LLP,

                                  Former Member of Congress


  Letitia James, Public Advocate, City of New York


  Jay Kriegel, Senior Advisor, The Related Companies

                     (Former Chief of Staff to Mayor John Lindsay)


  Velmanette Montgomery, Member, NY State Senate


  Walter Mosley, Member, NY State Assembly


  Kevin Parker, Member, NY State Senate


  N. Nick Perry, Member, NY State Assembly


  Margaret Lindsay Picotte, Daughter of Mayor John V. Lindsay


  Annette Robinson, Member, NY State Assembly


  John Samuelsen, President, TWU Local 100


  Al Vann, Member, City Council of New York (retired)


  Latrice Walker, Member, NY State Assembly


  Jumaane Williams, Member, City Council of New York


  Dr. Lester Young, Jr., Member, NYS Board of Regents





  Transport Workers Union, Local 100

  United Federation of Teachers

  American Federation of Teachers

  Albert Shanker Institute

  Local 46,

     Metal Lathers & Reinforcing Ironworkers

  Council of School Supervisors & Administrators


bottom of page